France Médecine Génomique 2025

Genomic medicine is profoundly changing patient care. To ensure that everyone has access to new technologies in genomic medicine in an equitable manner throughout the country, France is setting up a plan: the French Plan for Genomic Medicine 2025. It aims to change methods for diagnosis, prevention and treatment of patients by 2025. The plan responds to a request made by the Prime Minister to the Aviesan Alliance in April 2015, in order to examine the implementation of access to genetic diagnosis in our country.

The plan addresses 3 objectives:

Prepare the integration of genomic medicine in the current care pathway and the management of diseases. The aim is to ensure access to genomic medicine to patients who need it, suffering from cancer, a rare disease, or in the future, a common disease.

Set up a national sector of genomic medicine to serve patients, capable of being a lever for scientific and technological innovation, industrial valorisation and economic growth.

Place France among the world’s leading countries committed to personalised medicine, with a capability to export the know-how of our medical and industrial sector in genomic medicine.

The plan takes into account 4 major issues:

Organisation of public health

Genomic medicine is revolutionising the patient care pathway. Routine sequencing of the genome will allow patients more personalised diagnostic and therapeutic management. This will initially concern patients suffering from rare diseases or cancers, then in the future, patients with common diseases.

Les aspects scientifiques et cliniques

The aim is to strengthen the chain from exploration of pathologies to therapeutic benefit for the patient.

Technological aspects

New technologies are likely to converge with life sciences and health. The capability to acquire, store, distribute, match and interpret these massive and multiple datasets is at the heart of this convergence.

Economic aspects

Lastly, the challenge is an economic one, both in terms of cost for our health system, and also the development opportunities of a new industrial sector.

To go further
Coming soon

France Médecine Génomique 2025

La médecine génomique est en train de changer profondément la prise en charge des patients. Pour s’assurer que chacun puisse accéder aux nouvelles technologies de la médecine génomique de manière équitable sur tout le territoire, la France met en place un plan : le plan France médecine génomique 2025. Il vise à faire évoluer à l’horizon de 2025 la façon de diagnostiquer, prévenir, et soigner les patients. Le plan répond à une demande du Premier ministre adressée à l’Alliance Aviesan en avril 2015, afin d’examiner la mise en place des conditions de l’accès au diagnostic génétique dans notre pays.

Le plan vise 3 objectifs :

Préparer à l’intégration de la médecine génomique dans le parcours de soins courant et la prise en charge des pathologies. Il s’agit de garantir l’accès à la médecine génomique aux patients qui en ont besoin, ayant un cancer, une maladie rare, ou à terme, une maladie commune.

Mettre en place d’une filière nationale de médecine génomique au service des patients, capable d’être un levier d’innovation scientifique et technologique, de valorisation industrielle et de croissance économique.

Placer la France dans le peloton de tête des grands pays engagés dans la médecine personnalisée, avec une capacité d’exportation du savoir-faire de notre filière médicale et industrielle en médecine génomique.

Le plan prend en compte 4 enjeux majeurs :

L'organisation de la santé publique

La médecine génomique révolutionne le parcours de soin des patients. Le séquençage en routine du génome va permettre aux patients une prise en charge diagnostique et thérapeutique plus personnalisée. Cela concernera dans un premier temps les patients affectés par des maladies rares ou des cancers, puis à terme, les patients atteints de maladies communes.

Les aspects scientifiques et cliniques

Il s’agit de renforcer la chaîne allant de l’exploration des pathologies jusqu’au bénéfice thérapeutique pour le patient.

L'aspect technologique

Les nouvelles technologies sont appelées à converger avec les sciences de la vie et de la santé. La capacité à acquérir, stocker, distribuer, apparier, et interpréter ces données massives et multiples est au cœur de cette convergence.

L’aspect économique

L’enjeu est enfin économique, à la fois en termes de coût pour notre système de soin, mais également d’opportunité de développement d’une nouvelle filière industrielle.